Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-07, 11:51 PM   #1
remonman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (36.2 KB, 169 views)

Last edited by remonman; 12-15-11 at 04:35 AM.
remonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-07, 07:06 AM   #2
ratatouille
Registered User
 
ratatouille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ratatouille Send a message via MSN to ratatouille
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

Hi there,

I have almost the same hardware as you have:
  • Acer Aspire 9300 (laptop)
  • AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-52
  • nVidia GeForce Go 6100

And I have the same problems as you. I too tried all the points you mentionned, without any success. Furthermore, I tried several X versions, several distros (Ubuntu 7.04, OpenSuse 10.2 and now Fedora Core 7) and the problem is still here.

Just to mention it's not a hardware problem because the computer is rock solid when I use "nv" driver (the one Ubuntu used by default for eg).

I'll be happy to try any suggestion too and to help solving this problem.

Thanks a lot in advance.
ratatouille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-07, 10:58 AM   #3
ratatouille
Registered User
 
ratatouille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ratatouille Send a message via MSN to ratatouille
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

Hey remonman,

Do you have a TSS Tcorp DVD (TS-*) DVD burner? In this case try:

killall hald-addon-stor

Because it seems like some TSS Tcorp DVDs (found in a lot of laptops) might be the cause of some freezes.

I kill the process and no freeze for several hours now (the longest period I manage to keep my FC7 alive ). I hope it's gonna stay solid, I will report back.

Edit> Damn, freeze again... that's not that!
ratatouille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-07, 02:35 PM   #4
remonman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (28.5 KB, 165 views)

Last edited by remonman; 12-15-11 at 04:35 AM.
remonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 12:58 AM   #5
elsewhere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

We should just combine my previous thread with this one, since I actually have the same laptop. Though it's a dv9210, it's more or less the same hardware config. I'm using openSUSE with 2.6.22-ck1.

I don't buy the BIOS bug issue because I don't have any problems in Vista, and it's a unified driver, after all?

I'm wondering if there's a way to troubleshoot from the data provided in the WAIT error?

When I get a chance, I'll run an nvidia error log as well, but it will most likely mirror yours. It's funny that you mention the clicking on firefox links thing, because that's when I mostly notice it, clicking links in konqueror. Rarely happens when I'm not web browsing, so I wonder if maybe that's related? I'm not dev enough to understand web browser technology, but maybe whatever the browsers are doing to "pre-render" is tripping a bug or an error? Just a shot...

Cheers,
KV
elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 09:41 PM   #6
remonman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

.

Last edited by remonman; 12-15-11 at 04:35 AM.
remonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 07:19 AM   #7
theDOC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

Take a look at this:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=86253
theDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 10:36 AM   #8
ratatouille
Registered User
 
ratatouille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: France
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ratatouille Send a message via MSN to ratatouille
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDOC
I didn't give it a try yet (I'm still at work and I can't wait to be home :P) but it seems you may have a good point here, look what I found on the Gentoo Wiki:

Code:
Section "Device"
        Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        # This option must be either undeclared or
        # false, in order to avoid periodic short-term
        # freezes on beryl and other OpenGL intensive
        # programs
        Option      "UseEvents"         "false"
        Option      "RenderAccel"       "true"
EndSection
It has always been undeclared in my cases but I will force it to false just to be sure... who knows... maybe it's gonna work!
ratatouille is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-02-07, 06:10 PM   #9
remonman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

.

Last edited by remonman; 12-15-11 at 04:35 AM.
remonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 06:22 PM   #10
shaundennie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 79
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

It's possible that it is not actually a buggy BIOS but instead a DSDT compiled with non-standard junk that the MS compiler accepts. You may want to check out http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122145 and see if using a custom compiled DSDT fixes the problem. On my particular laptop, things like sound and even the video card fan didn't work until I fixed the DSDT. It's actually a fairly easy thing to do as well.
shaundennie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 11:11 PM   #11
remonman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

.

Last edited by remonman; 12-15-11 at 04:35 AM.
remonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 11:21 PM   #12
shaundennie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 79
Default Re: Compiz 10 second freeze on 6150 laptop

I don't know your laptop brand but, you may want to dive into the DSDT and see if it's doing anything special based on OS. On my laptop, it defers some functionality (like GPU fan control) to Windows but, only when it's < Vista. In making my machine work properly, I've learned a lot about DSDT stuff and if you want to send my your DSDT in a private message, I'd be happy to take a look to see if anything funny is going on based on the recognized OS.
shaundennie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 and total PC freeze on 7600GT Milos_SD NVIDIA Linux 8 07-14-12 02:56 PM
302.11 driver only allows native resolution settings of laptop DFP darinmiller NVIDIA Linux 2 05-30-12 04:45 PM
[Bug Report] Xid error after resume with 307.02, and compiz stops working. John K. NVIDIA Linux 0 05-09-12 03:42 PM
Why in Spider-Man The Movie PC Game only some levels i go to will freeze? imtim83 Gaming Central 5 10-03-02 10:21 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.