Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-03, 04:35 PM   #13
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

So far, no repro. Can you give me your distro/machine/card/XF86Config?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 04:52 PM   #14
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default

Distro:
any of: RH 7.3, 8, 9

Kernel:
all stock RH kernels (both SMP and UNI)
linus's 2.4.20 (other vanillas not tried)
-Do you need the output of lsmod?

Machine:
Supermicro X5DA8 MB (Intel E7505 chipset)
dual 2.8 Ghz CPU
1 Gig registered ecc RAM
U320 scsi (aic79xx based) (onboard the MB)
intel e1000 ethernet (onboard the MB)
DVS SDI I/O card (www.dvs.de)
-If you need more detail, I can post a lspci or other infos.


Card:
PNY Quadro4 980XGL

XF86Config:
see attached.

It can take some time to reproduce. (usually less than 20 minutes for the flow-blown 'eww' black corruption, but you can see hints of things (a little more flicker than usual in a rapidly updating dialogue, for example) before the full-blown eww)
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.0 KB, 106 views)
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 05:08 PM   #15
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default

The screenshots were taken on RH8 with the stock (updated) 2.4.18-24.8.0 kernel, both SMP and UNI
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 12:53 PM   #16
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default

So, were you able to reproduce the problem yet? Waiting for new hardware? =)
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 01:24 PM   #17
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Actually, no - both test cases ran for several hours without causing any corruption on the systems I checked. I'll push it out to some other systems today - i've got some ideas about it now.

I didn't get to it this weekend, sorry...

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 03:04 PM   #18
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default Hmm this time without any particular program running

Well, here is more corruption.
XF86Config has not changed, nothing has changed, however, this is the corruption I get.

To be clear- I was not running any program in particular, not even something that updates the screen often.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ewww3.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	1250  
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 03:16 PM   #19
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default More information about the machine

Here is the script used to harvest this information

Assuming you guys are in the SF Bay area, I'm happy to take this computer to you to play with for a few days.


echo "-------- lspci output follows --------" > machinespecs
lspci -vv >> machinespecs
echo "-------- lsmod output follows --------" >> machinespecs
lsmod >> machinespecs
echo "-------- uname -a output follows --------" >> machinespecs
uname -a >> machinespecs
echo "-------- output from 'cat /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/.config' follows --------" >> machinespecs
cat /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/.config >> machinespecs
Attached Files
File Type: txt machinespecs.txt (50.4 KB, 117 views)
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 03:36 PM   #20
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default Even more info

[fenix@gandalf agp]$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0

Model: Quadro4 980 XGL
IRQ: 21
Video BIOS: 04.28.20.05.03
Card Type: AGP

(cat agp/card gives no additional output)

[fenix@gandalf agp]$ cat agp/host-bridge
Host Bridge: PCI device 8086:2550 (Intel Corp.)
Fast Writes: Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 8x 4x
Registers: 0x1f00421b:0x00000102

[fenix@gandalf agp]$ cat agp/status
Status: Enabled
Driver: NVIDIA
AGP Rate: 8x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Disabled
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-03, 03:37 PM   #21
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Thanks for all the info!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 01:16 PM   #22
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default Have you been able to reproduce it yet?

Have you guys been able to reproduce the problem yet?

I'm willing to bring the machine over to you guys to play with for a few days to help solve the problem, if that would help (you'd be free to wipe the harddrive, etc)

More information:

Offscreen rendering is uneffected by the corruption.

When you get it into this state, you can open up a new window, and certain parts of the new window (most/all of the background part of the window) will be transparent. i.e. black text will appear as black, but as if the window's canvas was translucent.

The screenshot was taken on RH9.0 running kernel 2.4.20-9smp, using 4349
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 01:17 PM   #23
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Default Err, what about that example/screenshot?

Here it is
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ewww7.png
Views:	148
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	1292  
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 03:22 PM   #24
grmoc
.. Arg!!. Uh Pinky?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 38
Question Any word?

Sorry to keep bringing this up, but, is there any word or reproducing this problem?
grmoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.