Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-07, 04:31 PM   #1
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Hi there,
I bought a ASUS-MoBo M2NPV-VM with on-board GeForce 6150 due to ATIs lack of reasonable support for other OS than Win.
Visiting this forum before would have saved some bucks probably - Anyway, mistake is made :-(

My point:
I have the MoBo mentioned above and I have a LG2010 monitor with DVI input. I'm running several distros on this machine - none of them was able to create any X11-output although they've been working successful with a Sapphire Radeon 9000Pro before.

Finally I found a very surprising workaround by using the VGA-analog connector! (This is just a workaround and not acceptable in any way for the long term, of course...)

I tried to find a solution by searching through the forum - with no luck.
Probably there exists an easy solution - I would appreciate any answer very much, my debug-log and xorg.conf is attached.
In the xorg.conf you find the entry /Option ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, CRT"/ which did not bring me any further.


Regards Heino.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (89.8 KB, 71 views)
File Type: zip xorg.conf.zip (855 Bytes, 87 views)
heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-07, 09:01 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

1.0-8174 hasn't been supported in over a year. Please retest with 100.14.11.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 11:22 AM   #3
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

This board has two connectors. It could be that the DVI is port 1 (and the VGA is port 0).
You have configured CRT-0 and DVI-0 now (by omitting the -0), which is rejected because each port can be used only once.
Try Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-1"

In newer drivers it seems that they don't like you to use ConnectedMonitor anymore, and instead you use this:
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP-1"

(of course it would be a good idea to update the driver, certainly to get help from nvidia, but it should work with that older driver as well)
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 03:59 PM   #4
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Hi there,
first of all thanks for your responses, netllama and pe1chl!
As recommended, I did an upgrade of the nvidia installer to the latest version.
Result? Exactly as before - But!
By going through the documentation again I found another option for this driver: Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
This solved my problem.

I attached both log files, one from the working system: nvidia-bug-report.log
and the other: nvidia-bug-report_default.log

Opposite to many other posters here I deny to say "Thank You, Nvidia!" because this is clearly a BUG (and it would be easy to find either).
And it took _me_ hours to find it out although nobody will tell me that it is rocket-sience to identify where a screen is connected and where not.
Isn't there any quality check at Nvidia or something?
What you delivered is neither conform with the standard behavoir,
nor is it conform with the way it works under Win**
nor is it consistent with your own documentation where it [1] says:

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "string"
Allows you to override what the NVIDIA kernel module detects is onnected to your graphics card. This may be useful, for example, if you use a KVM (keyboard, video, mouse) switch and you are switched away when X is started. In such a situation, the NVIDIA kernel module cannot detect what display devices are connected, and the NVIDIA X driver assumes you have a single CRT.

Valid values for this option are "CRT" (cathode ray tube), "DFP" (digital flat panel), or "TV" (television); if using TwinView, this option may be a comma-separated list of display devices; e.g.: "CRT, CRT" or "CRT, DFP".
It is generally recommended to not use this option, but instead use the "UseDisplayDevice" option.
NOTE: anything attached to a 15 pin VGA connector is regarded by the driver as a CRT. "DFP" should only be used to refer to digital flat panels connected via a DVI port.
Default: string is NULL (the NVIDIA driver will detect the connected display devices).

Just to make it very clear: There is nothing in between, no KVM or nothing and there is also nothing connegted to the VGA-connector!
The most eagerly thing is - it works under Windows without all this Bulls...!
So again, what about quality checks at Nvidia?
Why are those easy-to-find bugs in your software?
And - last but not least - why don't you open the software to the community?
I could have fixed the thing during the hours I lost and I could have given back the fix to the users.
Regards

Heino.

[1] http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...ppendix-b.html
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (116.7 KB, 80 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report_default.log (116.9 KB, 82 views)
heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 04:06 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Please remove the ConnectedMonitor option from your X configuration (and replace as appropriate with the UseDisplayDevice option). If that fails to help, please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate a new bug report while the problem is present.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 05:34 PM   #6
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Hi Lonni,

I'll do what you're recommending - but not today anymore because it's late already.
I hope to find the time tomorrow - although I don't understand why?
It's working now - is my mail not sufficient as an bug-report?
Sorry if I get you completely wrong ...

Regards Heino
heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 05:38 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

If you want to understand why it works with ConnectedMonitor, yet not without, I'll need to see the bug report. Otherwise, there's nothing here to suggest that this is a bug, rather than a hardware problem.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 06:34 PM   #8
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

ok. ok.,

back again.
Although I cannot understand how this could be a hardware problem?
OS-related Hardware-problem?
(Remember, Bill-OS works flawless _via_the_DVI_connector_ !!)
You guys @ Nvidia should take much care about your intellectual property in that case ;-)

O.k., I replaced "ConnectedMonitor" by "UseDisplayDevice" and it works in the same way with both options. The log is attached.
I suppose there's no need for "startx -- -logverbose 6" then, right?

Regards Heino.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report_UseDisplayDevice-DFP.log (116.9 KB, 76 views)
heino is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-06-07, 06:39 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

If it works as desired without ConnectedMonitor, then I guess I don't understand what the problem is?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 03:15 AM   #10
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Hi Lonni,

as I wrote before, I used the Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP" and then it worked.
Following your recommendation I replaced this option by "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP" and it worked too.
But it did _not_ work without any of these two options - that's what took me hours and what I identified as being a bug.

So your conclusion is not correct, it does work without ConnectedMonitor only if I apply UseDisplayDevice...

Sorry, if I confused you a bit - english is not my mothertounge...

Nevertheless, I don't want to forget to say "Thank You" to you, Lonni.
I'm very positive about your fast response and your willingness to help and bring me forward in this case. This is - in my experience - not a common standard behavior.

Regards

Heino
heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 10:19 AM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

I'm afraid that I still do not see any evidence of a bug here. If you have two display devices attached (one a CRT, one a DFP), and you only wish to use one of them, the driver will always default to the CRT. If you wish to use the DFP instead of the CRT, then you need to use the UseDisplayDevice driver option. This is expected behavior which is documented in the driver README.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 12:18 PM   #12
heino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mainly @ home
Posts: 12
Default Re: Default GeForce 6150 - no DVI-output but VGA!!

Again:
I have one LCD-display directly connected via DVI. Nothing else.
And I do not have a twin-view or something special.
Just one straight forward installation MoBo-Monitor.

I can boot up to textmode (init 2) and everything looks fine.
Then I run "nvidia-xconfig" - it creates a xorg.conf
As soon as I run "X" or "startx" or "init 3" the screen gets black.
No signal.
Nothing.
As soon as I insert "Option ConnectedMonitor DFP" by hand - I get a signal.

My point is:
I connect the monitor with the MoBo.
I apply YOUR (Nvidia) SW in Windows - success.
I apply YOUR (Nvidia) SW in Linux - no success.
You understood?

Regarding the manual, there is written (beside my remark from yesterday):

"...
ConnectedMonitor

With this option you can override what the NVIDIA kernel module detects is connected to your graphics card. This may be useful, for example, if any of your display devices do not support detection using Display Data Channel (DDC) protocols. Valid values are a comma-separated list of display device names; for example:

"CRT-0, CRT-1"
"CRT"
"CRT-1, DFP-0"

WARNING: this option overrides what display devices are detected by the NVIDIA kernel module, and is very seldom needed. You really only need this if a display device is not detected, either because it does not provide DDC information, or because it is on the other side of a KVM (Keyboard-Video-Mouse) switch. In most other cases, it is best not to specify this option...." (http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...hapter-13.html)


again: ...either because it does not provide DDC information
===> my monitor does, as you can read easily in the logfile)

and again: ...or because it is on the other side of a KVM (Keyboard-Video-Mouse) switch.
===> there is no KVM, just one straight DVI cable)

and again: ...In most other cases, it is best not to specify this option.
===> this is obviously contrary to my experience - I do need the option although I dont have a twin-view or something like this.

I have a default setup and it does not work.
Therefore it is a bug

Anyway, I got it working now - if you guys don't see a good reason to fix it - it's about the satisfaction of your customers, not mine.
Cheers.
heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
DVI to VGA converter anyone? Necrosis NVIDIA Linux 4 08-18-02 03:54 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.