Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-07, 09:56 AM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Exclamation Should my temps be cooler?

I have in total 3 case fans, one 120mm exhaust fan, one 120mm side fan & one 120mm front fan(see case links 1 & 2 for case & fans), i have a thermalright ultra 120 eXtreme and i used arctic silver 5 thermal compound, i have my cpu at 3.4GHz and im running at at 1.5v(see idle & load links for temps)

The load temp is running TAT(intel thermal analysis tool)for around 10-15 mins at 100% workload on both cores, the whole setup is well over 8 hours Orthos stable!

Ive tried re-seating the cpu cooler and that has no effect, ive checked to make sure there are no dry spots on the cpu(the thermal compound is fully covering the cpu)!

I cant help thinking the temps should be cooler... what do you guys reckon? ... anything i could try to lower the temps?

Idle

Load

**********************

Case 1

Case 2
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 10:12 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Those temps sound about right for 1.5V. Is that the lowest stable voltage you can get your processor to run @ 3.4Ghz? My 24/7 is 3.2Ghz, but I only have to push the voltage to about 1.28V for stability, but I have to push it to 1.5V for 3.6Ghz. If you can undervolt the processor any more than that, it would probably help your temps tremendously.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 10:23 AM   #3
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Yip, im aware that lower voltage means lower temps, ill try again to be sure, ill start at 1.45v and run Orthos, ill knock it up one on the vcore each time it fails, see what happenes .... i have tried this before, im sure 1.5v is the best i can do to get it stable, im thinking of running at 3.2GHz 24\7 ..... see if that helps knock afew voltages off.

If i run Orthos at 3.4GHz with 1.5v the cpu struggles to hit 55c ... just TAT really puts the temps up, although i know nothing stresses the cpu like TAT!

Maby im just unfortunate enough to get a cpu that needs higher voltages, luck of the draw i think .... i got the short straw lol
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 11:12 AM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

40C for idle? That sounds WAY to high honestly. At 3.8ghz (vcore at 1.575) I was idling at 32C, with my CPU at 3.5ghz (vcore 1.475) I am idling at 27C.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 11:18 AM   #5
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
40C for idle? That sounds WAY to high honestly. At 3.8ghz (vcore at 1.575) I was idling at 32C, with my CPU at 3.5ghz (vcore 1.475) I am idling at 27C.

He doesn't have G0 stepping like you and his case door is on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Now turning off C1E Support & Speedstep changes things, ive managed to get higher, i have 1.4500v ... at the moment im at 3.4GHz ... im goin to leave it at 1.4500v and see how high i can clock the CPU ... i dont really wanna go past 1.4500v!

Ill keep ya posted! .... w00t, thanks for your help guys!
Do you still have C1E Support & Speedstep disabled?
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 11:40 AM   #6
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Do you still have C1E Support & Speedstep disabled?
Nope, i have them enabled!
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 11:53 AM   #7
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
He doesn't have G0 stepping like you and his case door is on.
True aboutt he G0 stepping but I dout the case door being off (not really off since its leaning against the case so the door fan still will work) would make that much of a difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 11:55 AM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Nope, i have them enabled!

So you have them enabled with your Vcore set at 1.5v or auto?
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-07, 12:03 PM   #9
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
So you have them enabled with your Vcore set at 1.5v or auto?

Those are enabled with my vcore set to 1.5v .... ?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 12:09 PM   #10
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

So basically your CPU throttles back to 2.2Ghz with the vcore @ 1.5v this will have some affect on your idle temps, yes.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 12:14 PM   #11
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
So basically your CPU throttles back to 2.2Ghz with the vcore @ 1.5v this will have some affect on your idle temps, yes.

Ahh right, so even though my cpu throttles down to 2.2GHz the voltage still stays at 1.5v? .... i though the voltage dropped also and just upped the voltage as asn when its needed! ......

Is there nothing i can do about this?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-07, 12:21 PM   #12
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Should my temps be cooler?

Will if you leave your Vcore to auto then maybe, I have never tried this so I don't know for sure.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prolimatech Genesis CPU Cooler Review - The Super Cooler News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 09:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.