Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-07, 08:54 PM   #49
wazooda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

I've found that to keep frames at 30 or above, I need to run at 1280x1024.

This enables me to turn on V-Sync (HORRIBLE tearing without) and keep the graphics settings MAX which, IMHO, is a MUST as the game is BEAUTIFUL!

I am a bit surprised that even with a pair of 7800GTX's in SLI that I still fall into the high 20's at times; especially around water.

For fun I ran at 3840x1024 to see how it looks in triple screen... and it is absolutely STUNNING! However.... frames average in the teens sometimes dipping single digits... so I guess I'll have to wait for a pair of 9800's....
__________________
i7-920 oc'd to 4ghz
eVGA x58 MB
eVGA 280GTX SLI
X-Fi XTreme Gamer
4gb Ram
Koolance PC3-725 Watercooled case
3 - HPLP2065 LCD's
Windows 7
wazooda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 09:05 PM   #50
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
It's double by default . You can force triple buffering through the nvidia control panel . Sometimes the game boots without vsync enabled and therefore the driver cannot enable triple buffering . If that happens just turn vsync on, apply a different resolution and then back to that u use
Ah, that explains it thanks! I do wish vsync would stay on whenever I start the game.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 09:43 PM   #51
bugmeplz
*BANNED*
 
bugmeplz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

Rainbow Six Vegas has always ran very well for me. Were people reporting performance issues at launch or something? I can run it 1600x1200 with HDR and AA with smoothe frames.
bugmeplz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 09:44 PM   #52
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

I managed to get tripple buffering to work. It's so much smoother with vsync enabled now! I had to get it working another way though. If I turned the resolution down and then tried to put the resolution back up the screen would stay at the same lower resolution. I had to alt tab out of the game and go back in. It worked then with tripple buffering enabled.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 12:49 AM   #53
Dayoflayo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

Someone can ask my questions please ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayoflayo
Hello. Is it normal that i've got only between 35 and 40 fps with this :
res 1080x1050
e6700
2x 1go BALLISTIX DDR2 pc5300
8800gts 320mb

i've got the last forceware.
thx
Dayoflayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 01:58 AM   #54
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Post your Bioshock benchmarks here:

I ran six 1 minute benchmarks using FRAPS at different periods in the demo.

NVCP Settings:
AF - 16x
AAGC - On
AA Mode - Override
AA - 16x
AAT - Supersampling
Conformant Texture Clamp - Use OpenGL Specification (thought I had this set on Use Hardware)
Error Reporting - Off
Extension Limit - Off
Force Mipmaps - Trilinear
Multi-display - Single
Texture filtering / Negative LOD Bias - Clamp
Texture filtering Quality - High Quality
Threaded Optimization - Auto
Triple Buffering - On
Vertical Sync - Forced Off (normally set to Forced On)

In-Game settings all set to High (maxed out) with VSync Off.

See Signature for everything else.

I took the six average FPS from the six benchmarks and added them together, then divided that by 6 and I got an Average of 38 FPS total.

I hope to be able to get the full version of the game some day.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 07:05 AM   #55
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

Anyone noticed when you turn Vsync on within the game that the framerate takes a huge hit? Goes from smooth to choking for me. I need to load up FRAPS and see what the actual numbers are.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 08:13 AM   #56
japamd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat
Anyone noticed when you turn Vsync on within the game that the framerate takes a huge hit? Goes from smooth to choking for me. I need to load up FRAPS and see what the actual numbers are.
Try forcing triple buffering (D3D overrider or DirectX Tweaker).

PS: forcing triple buffering on nvidia CP will affect OGL apps only.
japamd is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-07, 08:36 AM   #57
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

Pretty constant 60 while in XP. Not sure of Vista yet.
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 09:16 AM   #58
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

I'm getting mid 20s to mid 30s, DX10, everything on, at 2560x1600. I love my 8800GTX!
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 10:00 AM   #59
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

Yep, constant 60's with vista.

1650x1080 and everything on.
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 11:14 AM   #60
fizix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: Post your BioShock performance here

I had vista installed, ready to go before Bioshock came out, it was the sole reason I installed vista, for Bioshock DX10. Well anyways, after playing through the first two levels, I was somewhat disappointed, my performance was extremely inconsistent, dropping into the 20s-40s a lot, this was with everything max'd, 1440x900, etc. I was really saddened by this, especially after reading so many other positive reviews and claims of excellent performance, people with rigs inferior to mine. So, just out of curiosity, I deleted the partition vista was on, reinstalled windows xp, and wow, it runs like a dream; super smooth FPS everywhere, and after at least 10+ hours played in dx10 mode, there are barely any significant differences between dx9/dx10. ^ Just my experience

edit: I'm not putting any blame on vista, and actually the reason I think why my performance was sluggish was because I believe I had both windows xp and vista installed on the same partition somehow, not sure, but I know it was a personal problem, not vista related.
__________________
eVGA 8800GTX@630/1040/e6600@3.3GHz 38C 1.3v w/thermalarmor Big Typhoon cooling/2x800mhzPC6400/eVGA 680i/Modular 650W/ViewSonic '19lcd/3DMark06:12k
fizix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Xyratex ' The Next Gen in Storage Performance and Efficiency News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 09:50 AM
Boost Your Performance Goals 10x ' This Week on inside* Publications News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 05:20 PM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
poor kde X windows performance after restart HeadStrong NVIDIA Linux 5 08-19-02 07:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.