Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-07, 06:29 AM   #13
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Bandit

Hehe its Tenebrae
rygel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 06:39 AM   #14
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces







rygel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 07:41 AM   #15
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Amazing stuff my man. Would this work on the Steam version??

EDIT: After some reading I'm pretty sure if I can get the Steam version into Darkplaces, I'll be set.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 08:08 AM   #16
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by rygel
Bandit

Hehe its Tenebrae
hmm i wonder if i can actually run that at acceptable speeds now... i remember my old 9500 pro was struggling big time
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-07, 11:09 AM   #17
Nitz Walsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 622
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Yeah, I'd like to hear about framerates as well - even high end systems choked with tenebrae.
Nitz Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-07, 09:04 AM   #18
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Her is the pack as .pk3.

First ones are around 1GB, second one is ~850MB.

http://shub-hub.com/files/textures_r....pk3.part1.rar
http://shub-hub.com/files/textures_r....pk3.part2.rar
http://shub-hub.com/files/textures_r....pk3.part3.rar

Multi-connection downloading and resuming should work.
Installing this pk3 is as easy as simply putting it into /id1 or whatever mod you want to run (creating a new dir like /ultra would be a good idea).
__________________
CRYSIS & WARHEAD TEXTUREUPDATE 2GB / 1.9GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117949
Texturepack_Ultra_for_Quake_Darkplaces 2.73 GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...72#post1350472
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod 818 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/comment.php?2275
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod update 111 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/d...d.php?view.642
rygel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-07, 03:04 AM   #19
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

LordHavoc new beta with texture compression in the options.


Windows build:http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplac...70824beta1.zip

Linux+Mac+Windows build:http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplac...70824beta1.zip

Be sure to edit your id1/config.cfg and dpmod/config.cfg and add gl_texturecompression 1 to each before running this pack, otherwise it may crash after a few levels (and run horribly).
__________________
CRYSIS & WARHEAD TEXTUREUPDATE 2GB / 1.9GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117949
Texturepack_Ultra_for_Quake_Darkplaces 2.73 GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...72#post1350472
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod 818 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/comment.php?2275
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod update 111 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/d...d.php?view.642
rygel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 12:10 AM   #20
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

I installed this yesterady. Man... when configured the way rigel and myself have ours set, this game puts a SERIOUS beat down on the machine... I'm talking.... there are some places where I'm in the 20's FPS... that's slower than CRYSIS!!!

The game looks unbelievable though.. the 3d surfaces like the blocks and bricks are just incredible. The lighting is really nice too. The simple geometry of the original level design does leave a bit to be desired but man the textures and lighting make this a modern shooter again.

Pics





Nails from the nail gun.. which totally owns now.











http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...1-36-36-15.jpg

__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-08, 12:56 AM   #21
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
LOL, those textures look much better than Bioshock, a multi-million dollar game.
Not to be critical to the guy that did the work, but NO, they look nowhere near as good.

These textures look like the normal maps (at least in those Tenebrae shots, not sure if they were intended like that) were just generated via embossing. Bioshock has some parallax mapping for that matter.

In addition, the textures aren't THAT great artistically, some of them look like various noise textures added to a touched up original Quake texture...
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 01:24 AM   #22
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

even with those textures, the game looks nothing like a modern shooter. dont see whats so impressive about the lighting
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 01:35 AM   #23
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by JigenD
Not to be critical to the guy that did the work, but NO, they look nowhere near as good.

These textures look like the normal maps (at least in those Tenebrae shots, not sure if they were intended like that) were just generated via embossing. Bioshock has some parallax mapping for that matter.

In addition, the textures aren't THAT great artistically, some of them look like various noise textures added to a touched up original Quake texture...
Unreal Engine 3 doesn't even have true parallax mapping.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 07:10 AM   #24
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Congratulations, awesome work!. Downloading right now
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.