Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-03, 04:33 AM   #13
afrosheen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Default

It was unset to begin with when it was locking, so it doesn't make any difference set or unset on my machine.

I've rolled back to Mandrake 9 for the time being until everyone figures out what's going on. With mdk9 and the new kernel drivers, everything is rock solid like it used to be.
afrosheen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 04:45 AM   #14
3777
Registered User
 
3777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default

Wierd, once I got everything installed in Slackware 9, I haven't had any problems with KDE whatsoever. My first Distro was Mandrake and everything used to crash, but I think that's a reflection of the Distro rather then the Nvidia drivers. Don't know what problem the Slackware guy is having, maybe it's hardware? I'm runnint a TI 4600 card and the KT400 Chipset
3777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 05:19 AM   #15
afrosheen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Spare us the distro bigotry. If you haven't noticed, this is a help forum.
afrosheen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 05:24 AM   #16
3777
Registered User
 
3777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by afrosheen
Spare us the distro bigotry. If you haven't noticed, this is a help forum.
It's not distro bigotry, almost every program I ever used in Mandrake would lock up, crash, and freeze, and that was just with the Mandrake drivers. I almost quit Linux because of Mandrake. Really, it's not bigotry, just advice from someone with experience...Mandrake is also the only distro that wouldn't install on my current system. The only other distros I've used are Red Hat and now Slackware, and I've had absolutely none of the problems with either that I always used to have with Mandrake.
3777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 11:39 AM   #17
kristanb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I did a little more messing around on my Mandrake 9.1 box, using the latest 4349 driver. The problem is so ephemeral that I'm still not completely sure it's fixed, but I haven't had a lock up in about 24 hours, so....

I re-formatted my swap partition. There were no bad blocks reported, but it seemed to fix the problem for awhile, then it happened again.

I had tried setting "NvAgp" "1" before, in response to somebody else's post, but if you're brighter than I you'll notice that it should be "NvAGP" "1" (gotta love case sensitivity). After I fixed the typo, the box has been stable.

I'm still concerned that I could be having a hardware problem, since I don't really know what this option setting does. Is there reason to believe that having the wrong AGP settings could cause flaky performance, rather than preventing X from starting, or locking consistently with a particular app?
kristanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 12:04 PM   #18
omas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9
Default

Well, i also have changed my XF86Config-4.

Instead of your

Option "NvAGP" "1"

or the defaultsetting, i used

Option "NvAGP" "3"

And since then i havent had any lockups... (strange)

I also have played around with my BIOS settings, but havent recorded wich settings i changed there.
omas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 06:22 PM   #19
ka-klick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Well, i also have changed my XF86Config-4.
Instead of your
Option "NvAGP" "1"
or the defaultsetting, i used
Option "NvAGP" "3"
I just tried that for the heck of it, since I hadn't heard anything out of Andy on my own thread since the day after I started it, and it worked (so far). Thanks!
__________________
There's a time and a place for everything...
Its called college.
-- Chef, South Park
ka-klick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 08:07 PM   #20
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

That's, umm, very strange. For that setting, 3 is the default. If you don't have the option specified, it's as if you have it set like you guys do, at "3".
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-03, 10:11 PM   #21
ka-klick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
That's, umm, very strange. For that setting, 3 is the default. If you don't have the option specified, it's as if you have it set like you guys do, at "3".
That's what I thought, but for the first time in a couple weeks I have a working X setup that has 3d accelleration. I tried it as a lark, but it did work. I'm glad, because now my wife'll stop being grumpy about not being able to frag me.
__________________
There's a time and a place for everything...
Its called college.
-- Chef, South Park
ka-klick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 10:07 AM   #22
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Hmm.... *shrug*

Well, I guess if it works...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 01:40 PM   #23
Kenneth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
Default I have also seen this

On a friends Mandrake 9.1 system (a Gforce 2 card) I have also seen these lockups.

I tried reverting to an older driver, but it didn't help.

I guess the next thing is to try the

Option "NvAGP" "3"

/Kenneth
Kenneth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-03, 02:08 PM   #24
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
I guess the next thing is to try the

Option "NvAGP" "3"
That's the default behavior - unless you're specifying a different number to NvAgp, that's what you get.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 01:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 11:13 PM
Mandrake 9.0 or RH 8.0 for a Linux Noob?? jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-08-02 11:46 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 09:13 AM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 04:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.