Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Software Development

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-07, 12:56 PM   #13
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Sure. And the best way to do it, if he has PHP/MySQL, is to check the page before it is outputed to the client, once in a week (per page / link) or so.. Even if it must be done via JavaScript (very silly, what about search engines and people with JS off?), the best would be to issue XMLHttpRequest, process URL on the server (cache results), and return back the result.
Please carefully re-read his posts. And allow_url_fopen is a security concern.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8
There's a link that the server will never be able to reach, but the client can depending on where they are connected to the internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8
I need is a way to detect non working links on the client side.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-07, 12:59 PM   #14
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Please carefully re-read his posts. And allow_url_fopen is a security concern.
Ok, that was in 3rd followup (in his first post he was asking for PHP solution, ie. server one). Well, he should better "fix" the server, so that it can access what clients can..
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 09:07 AM   #15
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Well, he should better "fix" the server, so that it can access what clients can..
The web server I'm talking about resides on a private intranet LAN behind a firewall. People who are connecting to the internet from this LAN can also reach this server, but anyone outside the LAN can't. I needed a way to detect if the client is on the LAN and send them to the local private web server instead of the public internet server. I did suggest to my IT admin that we could set up a local DNS which routes all request to our hosted internet web server to our local web server, but he doesn't want that.

Essentially, there will be 2 web servers. One public on the internet, the other private on the LAN. They both will host the same PHP/Javascripts, but the private server will have access to private secured DATA from a private Mysql server and public data on another mysql server. The public internet server will have access to public DATA but not the private data.

It was essentially a security issue in that we wanted a way to keep some data private and never accessible from the public internet.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 09:17 AM   #16
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

Why not add that web server IP address to "trusted IPs"? Then it can access it as well and verify links via PHP..
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 10:43 AM   #17
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

You're missing the point, he's intentionally segregating the databases and webservers due to security concerns, leave the man alone.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 03:14 PM   #18
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
..
Nope, you're missing whole picture ;-) To verify links via JavaScript is the worst possible solution I can think of. Slow, needing too much bandtwith, checking same link (e.g.) thousand time a second, unreliable (JavaScript off), etc... Creating a secure link between web server and internal data servers is not a problem, and it allows him to build the verification in a way, that makes sense.

Building upon a wrong concept cannot bring anything good..

PS: unlike you and your silly personal invectives, I have very strong experience in webdesign: http://hulan.cz/portfolio/
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 04:28 PM   #19
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Detecting Bad Links

fivefeet8, sorry to allow this thread to be de-railed. I won't respond unless you have further questions as Radekhulan, our resident troll, will freely proliferate his gems of wisdom concerning your security infrastructure and how you should segregate critical data. You'll have to forgive his lack of experience in the enterprise, he's a Microsoft propaganda agent.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discovery of new "zero-day" exploit links developers of Stuxnet, Flame News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 07:10 PM
System not detecting 128MB of graphics memory A-KO NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 21 09-27-02 09:59 PM
Is it bad to leave geforce overclocked all the time? Creole General Hardware 2 09-24-02 12:13 AM
so let's try this again in the new forum - bad performance with correctly inst.driver neutrino NVIDIA Linux 11 08-01-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.