Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-02, 07:30 AM   #1
VoltFox
[•] [•] [•]
 
VoltFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via ICQ to VoltFox Send a message via MSN to VoltFox
Default Disabling ACPI improves performance?

Does disabling ACPI could improves video/graphic performance? and what is the down side of disabling it? can explain it to me...

Thanks...
VoltFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 07:54 AM   #2
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

From everything that I have read, it's not worth it. Typical gains in 3dmarks are in the 100-300 range and then you have to manage your own IRQ's. I'll take the convenience of ACPI over a couple hundred 3dmarks any day.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 08:56 AM   #3
VoltFox
[•] [•] [•]
 
VoltFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via ICQ to VoltFox Send a message via MSN to VoltFox
Default

So it does improve performance? coz right now I'm running with ACPI disabled, and If I re-enable it through BIOS, I have to re-install windows... that sucks...

I'm glad I don't have to assigned the IRQ manually by disabling ACPI, but my system cannot goes standby because of it...

Any other experience guys by disabling it?
VoltFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 10:31 AM   #4
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

Some games like disabling of it, some don't...basically it's a crap shoot, and basically it was over-hyped...put ACPI back on...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-02, 10:54 AM   #5
VoltFox
[•] [•] [•]
 
VoltFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via ICQ to VoltFox Send a message via MSN to VoltFox
Default

I've just run a quick test, I've just re-install windows twice with ACPI enabled and disabled...

And I've decided to turn the ACPI off because from that quick test I've already encountered 2 things...

1. If I enable ACPI and playing mp3 with my winamp, sometimes it skips or pause when I'm doing something else, ex. browsing the net or my folders... while when I disable ACPI I've never encountered those kind of problem...

2. When ACPI enabled, I've experienced a bit jerkiness when playing MOH:AA and GTA3, while with ACPI disabled I didn't experienced such jerkiness... I didn't test it with other games, coz that 2 games is the only game that I've played often...

I've installed the latest drivers except for VIA 4in1, I never trust it, VIA driver which comes from XP is a lot better in my experience...

Well, that's my experience, and disabling ACPI doesn't seem to hurt my com, the only problem is my system cannot goes Standby, but I never use it anyway...

Cheers...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD AthlonXP 1900+ @ 1,70GHz w/ Alpha8045 Heatsink & Sunon 50 cfm Fan
Epox 8KHA+ @ 142Mhz FSB
512 Elixir PC2100 DDR RAM 2-2-2 w/ Thermaltake Heatsink & Fan
Leadtek Winfast Geforce3 Ti500 @ 255/575Mhz
Sound Blaster Audigy DE
2x40 GB Maxtor D740X ATA133 7200RPM
Pioneer 12x DVD-Rom
RICOH CD-RW MP7125A Justlink 12x10x32x
Surecom 10/100 Network card
Antec 480w True Power PSU
WindowsXP Professional O/S
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by VoltFox; 08-21-02 at 10:56 AM.
VoltFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-02, 05:08 PM   #6
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I hace ACPI on with ESCD on manual...which means, as far as I can tell, the IRQ goes normally instead of all in one.
Which (assumedly) means I get the benefits of it off with the benefits of it on. Heh heh.
I also have APIC 1.4 on, but anyway
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boost Far Cry 3's Performance With New GeForce Drivers News Archived News Items 0 11-28-12 03:30 PM
KDE Plasma Active 3 Improves Performance, Brings New Apps News Archived News Items 0 10-15-12 11:40 AM
Performance Analysis of IB FDR and 40GigE RoCE on HPC and Cloud News Archived News Items 0 08-26-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.