Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-07, 06:32 PM   #1
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Hi guys,

I just set this rig up, took most of my other components from my old X2 setup. I'm overclocking it, but everytime I go past 2.85Ghz (1245FSB, 9x Multi), it just doesn't boot to windows. The wall is so extreme that I can do 2.85Ghz all voltages on auto (1.24vCore) and that works fine with prime. But if I dare go 10Mhz over that, no matter what voltage all the way up to 1.48v, it just doesn't make it to login. SPP voltage, or FSB voltage up to 1.5v, just doesn't matter at all.

Temps are okay, watercooled. I'm wondering if it's my PSU, I can't believe it though, because there are a few others with this PSU and Quad systems. My 5v+ is on 4.93v though, the rest is all well over 12v+ and 3.3v+. I don't know what to do. It's not a poor powersupply, tried switching the leads around, thinking rails wise etc, plugged in all cables, 8pin and molex aswell. Nothing changes.

Apart from that everything is adjusted properly in the bios I think, ram is unlinked from the FSB, at 800Mhz etc, no problem there.

I've been overclocking for a couple of years now, but I'm a bit baffled by this.


Specs :

Intel C2Q Q6600 G0
XFX nForce 680i LT SLI
Leadtek 8800GTS 640mb
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
Corsair HX520w
WD Raptor 74Gb, Samsung 250Gb, 400Gb
Creative X-fi Xtrememusic
D-Tek Fuzion - Eheim 1048 - BIX
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 06:54 PM   #2
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Forgot to add, I tried running the RAM linked, even though I was 100% sure it was unlinked, but still got the same problem, no matter what I tried, it just didn't work. The memory was even running below spec at 6xx Mhz. Hm, weird.
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 06:58 PM   #3
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Set your RAM speed to exactly twice your FSB and see if that fixes it.

For example, if you're running a 350FSB, set it to 700MHz. 400FSB-->800MHz. And so on.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 07:22 PM   #4
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

No that doesn't work either. I added some screenshots.







Edit : Tried putting the PCIe freq. to their respective freq. Thought they might not be locked, still no go. Dropped the multiplier, upped the FSB, same thing happened.

Driving me mad.
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 08:55 PM   #5
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Might be the memory controller. Some 680i users have had bad luck with that.

May want to try flashing the bios as a last option.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 10:07 PM   #6
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

#1 - it's likely your motherboard. Although it is called a "680i" LT, it is not the same exact chip as the 680i in a board with less features. Many just wont OC for crap.

#2- a more powerful power supply might help as well. Before my son spilled soda on it, I had no problems hitting 3.6GHz with my 700w OCZ. While waiting for a new power supply I ran with an Ultra 550w power supply and couldn't keep it stable @ 3.2 GHz. Now that I'm back to a good power supply I can run 3.6 stable again.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 04:28 AM   #7
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Okay I'm going to try flashing the bios to the latest version.

(Sorry for the late reply, but had to go to bed, was past 2 lol)
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 04:54 AM   #8
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Oh no.........

Flashed the bios, computer doesn't boot any longer. Clearing the CMOS didn't help, now I'm gonna leave it on there for an hour or so.

Just my luck, my stupidity rather, because I flashed it while overclocked, always use default settings. Argh
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-07, 06:43 AM   #9
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

(Sorry for the triple post)

Removing the battery worked, the flash was succesful! Didn't doesn't boot into windows anymore, Error boot configuration data. Turned out bios swapped the HD boot order. lol

Now let's see if overclocking works properly now.

Edit : YES it worked! Priming away at 3Ghz now! Thanks for the support guys! Temps seem a bit better now too, strange!
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 08:29 AM   #10
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

No problem. Glad you got it working.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 10:49 AM   #11
[EOCF] Tim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 641
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
No problem. Glad you got it working.
Just finished priming 3Ghz for almost 4 hours (was away anyway) and no errors, temps were a bit high though, 57-60c, but I'm getting a Thermochill soon.

Thanks again.
[EOCF] Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-07, 04:44 PM   #12
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Q6600 ; Hitting a wall at 2.85Ghz, no voltage helps.

I am still debating picking one of these G0 Q6600's up. I can by the G0 stepping Q6600 at a local store for $279.00. The only problem is I am terribly unsure if I will even notice a difference worth that much money vs. what I have now. Not to mention I don't feel like anything is really slowed down compaired to where it should be. Would be more of a synthetic jump than a practical one it feels like. Let us know how things feel.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.