Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-07, 04:15 PM   #1
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Slow Internet

My speed test says I am getting around 15 Megabits, and 1.5 megabits upload. Yet for some reason all my sites including this one are loading super slow, and it started once I O/ced. I am using the onboard ethernet of course, can O/Cing affect pages loading? I use firefox.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 04:39 PM   #2
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet

Sounds like a DNS issue.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 04:55 PM   #3
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Slow Internet

If you suspect it's your OC, why not downclock long enough to find out? I doubt it it, but anything is possible.

Try Opera and IE, also, to make sure your browser isn't jacked. It never hurts to boot into safe mode and run HiJackThis, Spybot, Adaware, an AV scan, and remove any crud. Just make sure to disable system restore before you boot into safe mode so that there is no residual junk left in there.

Or it could be a DNS issue like EG said. Have you tried using the IP's to access sites?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 05:21 PM   #4
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: Slow Internet

Any more info. My webpages are loading extremely slow, hell I was lucky enough the other day to be pulling 100kbp and yet the pages took ages and my latency in CS-S were from 500 (in same country - 1200 (in differnet country)


its driving me mad
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 05:42 PM   #5
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOAD_rule
Any more info. My webpages are loading extremely slow, hell I was lucky enough the other day to be pulling 100kbp and yet the pages took ages and my latency in CS-S were from 500 (in same country - 1200 (in differnet country)


its driving me mad
That's completely unrelated to the OP. Your's sounds like a bandwidth saturation issue.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 05:49 PM   #6
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Slow Internet

Cut off bittorrent.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 05:58 PM   #7
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: Slow Internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
That's completely unrelated to the OP. Your's sounds like a bandwidth saturation issue.

bandwidth saturation. You mean my line is as limited


Damn! Have already been moved from 3mb to 1mb :sobs:


p.s I dont use bit torrents

DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: MultiMode
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 544 kbps
Upstream Rate: 128 kbps
Downstream Margin: 7 db
Upstream Margin: 17 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 51 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0
Cisco Logo

PVC Connection

Encapsulation: RFC 2516 PPPoE
Multiplexing: LLC
Qos: UBR
Pcr Rate: 0
Scr Rate: 0
Autodetect: Disable
VPI: 8
VCI: 35
Enable: Yes
PVC Status: Up


according to my crappy WAG200G router
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 06:07 PM   #8
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet

You're not trained at 1Mbit, you're training at .5Mbit and your SNR is horrific, how have you not dropped train yet? With line attenuation at 51 you're pretty far from the CO/RT eh?

See if they'll train you FAST instead of INTL.

The DSLAM could be doing rate-adapt since you're so far from the CO and may not be training at 1024.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-12-07, 06:35 PM   #9
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Slow Internet

Next question, what would cause my PC to stay running, but my monitor to just lose signal? I didn't get a BSOD, my PC didn't restart. My monitor turned off and I couldn't get it to reaquire the signal almost like someone had unplugged my video card from the motherboard. I am o/cing it and the CPU. I was wondering why does the PCI Voltage have to be increased when you OC your cpu? It automatically put it at 1.4, and the nForce at 1.5. Are these good voltages? Sorry I don't see a need to create a new thread for this question.

I also hear a grinding noise not really grinding but almost like my HD spinning, whenever I am using one of the processors. I don't remember hearing before at stock...
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 07:47 PM   #10
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet

Hahaha, I have to ask, with all these insane problems why on earth are you still trying to OC? You hell-bent on destroying your hardware?
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 07:53 PM   #11
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Slow Internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Hahaha, I have to ask, with all these insane problems why on earth are you still trying to OC? You hell-bent on destroying your hardware?

Nah it ain't detroyed it past prime95 3 times in a row with no errors. I am only OCED to 3.26GHz.. I've had it to 3.40Ghz and stable. I just am probably being paranoid. I just never knew a processor could make noise, and people here posted that theres done it once before when I had a thread going.

Rather then ask a silly question, why not give some helpful advice or an answer to my question.

PS it turned out it was a DNS error fixed it... stupid insight.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 07:59 PM   #12
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet

Noise = Could be a bad fan bearing or the thermal controlled fan ramping up it's RPM to better cool the CPU.

Loss of Monitor = Really not sure on this one...

Silly Question = I wasn't really trying to be offensive, sorry if it seemed that way, it was mostly as a joke.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What your Internet behavior says about your mental state News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 09:00 PM
Internet Explorer 10: embedded Flash, Do Not Track, and stable standards News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 03:10 AM
House members hear why ITU can't be trusted with Internet regulation News Archived News Items 1 06-01-12 12:46 PM
Bandwidth explosion: As Internet use soars, can bottlenecks be averted? News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.