Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-07, 08:27 PM   #1
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

First I'm running a dual boot set up. I overclocked my cpu. And ran Prime95 and Orthos. And it's stable in Windows XP Pro. So I boot up in Vista and it hangs, freezes. Can someone tell me why it would do this?
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-07, 08:41 PM   #2
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

have you tried backing off your overclock till you can boot into vista? what's the difference between the xp and vista overclock? if it's large something is probably wrong, but if it's very minimal then probably normal. Different OS is probably the answer then.
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-07, 04:09 AM   #3
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

my highest xp overclock isn't stable in vista either. thought i had it tested good in xp then was doing some routine work in vista and pc froze. thought it might have been a fluke so let it alone but soon happened again. had to back down 50 mhz so it's stable in both.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-07, 06:07 AM   #4
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

The OS itself would have nothing to do with how much you can overclock a CPU, so you must have either corrupted your benching program or your operating system while overclock-testing.

Install Windows again.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-07, 12:26 PM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

No it's true it's the same with me, i can run 3.4GHz fine under XP play games etc no problems, but when i boot in vista it just reboots till you lower the overclock.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-07, 11:33 AM   #6
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

Vista is much more sensitive to ram issues than XP is. If your OC is failing under Vista, I would definitely check that ram is 100% stable under XP.

Also Vista64, at least in my case idles my cpu higher than XP does, so it's really not surprising that an on-the-edge XP OC may not work well with Vista.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-07, 11:49 AM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slammin
Vista is much more sensitive to ram issues than XP is. If your OC is failing under Vista, I would definitely check that ram is 100% stable under XP.
I would agree with that. Also, when I 1st got Vista, I couldn't OC my graphics card at high as I could in XP. This problem has gone for me as newer drivers have come out.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computex 2012: MSI Overclock Warranty News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 03:40 AM
Internet Explorer 10: embedded Flash, Do Not Track, and stable standards News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 03:10 AM
$169.99 - GIGABYTE Super Overclock Series GV-N56GSO-1GI GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 2 News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 10:00 PM
How high of an overclock can I expect out of a GeForce4 Ti 4200? Danno NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 08-16-02 11:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.