Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-07, 07:30 AM   #97
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nVJoe
Try harder. It's ok. You are not the first to have their arss whuped by UDawg and you won't be the last. Just consider it a priviage.

Don't even have to try...
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 08:06 AM   #98
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Anyone else getting steam errors when loading up TF2 today?

This is the first chance I've had to play it since yesterday morning, and now when the game loads I get a little error box that says something about an error verifying steam userID. If I try connecting to any servers it gives the same error and wont connect.

What the hell is this crap?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 08:30 AM   #99
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget
Source graphics?
Its pretty toony, some nice shaders and stuff to help that.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 08:32 AM   #100
pross
 
pross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Anyone else getting steam errors when loading up TF2 today?

This is the first chance I've had to play it since yesterday morning, and now when the game loads I get a little error box that says something about an error verifying steam userID. If I try connecting to any servers it gives the same error and wont connect.

What the hell is this crap?
i just tried it b4 going to work...for some reason all my games said pre-load complete instead of 100% ready WTF? i restarted steam and its back to normal..i connected to 2fort ok
__________________
CPU: i7 2600k @ 4.4Ghz GPU: GTX 560ti 2G SLI PPU: GTX260 RAM: 16G Corsair Vengeance MOBO: P8Z68-V PRO GEN3 BOX: Cosmos S Cooling: Corsair H100 SSD: Corsair 120G ForceGT
pross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 11:31 AM   #101
nVJoe
Registered User
 
nVJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt
Don't even have to try...
We all noticed you weren't trying.
nVJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 12:24 PM   #102
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

It looks very good, especially the shaders and post effects (like motion blur).

I only wish there were my physics props in the game. I think this is because it's also on the 360 and PS3, hence we don't have all the nice phsyics objects lying around.

Also, since they were baking in a lot of "ambient occlusion" into the models props, they couldn't allow them to move, else the shadows would look weird.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 12:26 PM   #103
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Well I just played it for a few more hours.

Spies seem a bit too perfect IMO. Once you get used to how long it takes to cloak\decloak and recharge your cloaking, a spy is completely overpowered in certain circumstances. There is absolutely no way to find them when they are cloaked or disguised. IMO, that just turns into a hassle since everyone has to expend 90% of their ammo to uncover spies (by repeatedly shooting team mates until they die).

At the very very least they should bleed when cloaked. As it is, you can't even tell if you're hitting a spy when he is in the process of cloaking or decloaking, and when one disappears in front of you, you can spray the entire room with a minigun without a single sign of him.

The scouts seem a little overpowered too. They were almost useless in TFC, but now they can easily take down any enemy. I was laughing running around an enemy base on 2fort because it was so easy to kill half a dozen enemies with the weakest combat class in the game.

The demoman seems underpowered to me. If he had a shotgun or a pistol to defend himself it'd be perfect, but as it is, you're pretty much screwed if you're face to face with any enemy with reasonable aim and a shotgun, because you're trying to lob grenades at a moving target, while you are moving very slowly.

Other than those gripes, its a great game. Very frustrating at times (mostly because of the above) but I can see myself wasting a lot of time on this. Hell, I've put probably 8 hours into it in 2 days.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 12:42 PM   #104
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

Scouts are not overpowered. I can take them out as a doctor, Hell with me healing Tyger no one stood a chance. I will argee with spies being alittle too powerful...

Spoudazo, There are tons of things that react properly but the game itself doesn't have much of an explosive nature. Even rockets from soldiers or gernades from demo's seem alittle underpowered. I've seen bodies fly but not due to explosions... seems like they need to kick up the explosion effects and reactions.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-19-07, 12:48 PM   #105
Odral
True Gamer
 
Odral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 354
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

I'am debating to jump on this and pre order or just wait until it arrives next month. I hear many people having problems with Vista x64 so far, anyone else here with Vista x64 that is playing so far without much hassle?
Odral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 01:23 PM   #106
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

This is the most fun game I have played IN A LONG TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 OMG I love it, smooth as butter @ 1680x1050. The sniper pwns.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

Last edited by mullet; 07-19-11 at 09:19 AM.
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 01:24 PM   #107
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

My problem with scouts are they are so fast, and as it is their weapons do too much damage... you can just run circles around people nailing them with the bat and the shotgun is pretty powerful itself.

But I thought spies were overpowered originally also... and now I just shoot everybody .

We needs to play togeda.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-07, 01:26 PM   #108
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: Team Fortress 2 Beta... Now Unlocked!

the characters move far to slowly giving the scout a massive advantage.
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefall Beta Thread Roadhog Gaming Central 62 05-15-12 12:25 PM
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.