Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-03, 02:55 PM   #1
bluesign
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default TwinView as a dual head, is possible ?

Hello,
my Tvout works fine, but I would like to work on my monitor while my wife is looking a divx movie on the tv, at the same time. How could I get this? should I start another xserver? is not possible to direct to the tvout, i.e., only the second or third workspace? I would like any suggestion, thank You very much
bluesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 05:32 PM   #2
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

I've never heard of that being able to be done. If you have dual heads already like one RGB and one DVI you can get a RGB to S-Video and do it that way.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 09:58 PM   #3
tommygunner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6
Default yep

you can do that. I just did that right now. I can share file with you if you want it. I'm looking for way of just having linux bootup to tv and not play on monitor at all. Maybe we can swap files.
tommygunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 11:52 PM   #4
slackr
slackrFX
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Default

If you don't connect a crt on boot the video out on the card is the default head. Just set up X to use the video out as the main head on a twin view set-up.

eg.
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "tv,crt"
slackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-03, 12:00 PM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Look at the "other" twinview way described in Appendix R of the Readme file. It allows you to use two seperate X screens, one for each head of the card.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-03, 08:25 PM   #6
slackr
slackrFX
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Look at the "other" twinview way described in Appendix R of the Readme file. It allows you to use two seperate X screens, one for each head of the card.
Yes, you can setup a dual head on one card but you can not use one head (VGA/LCD) and other head (TV) with the current drivers. TV-out requires Twinview. right?

I have expermented with setting up a dual head VGA with TV-out on a single card but that cannot be done with only 2 dacs. I was trying to use 2 VGAs and switching to 1 VGA and TV-out using "Screen0" as VGA and "Screen1" for the 2nd VGA/Tv-out. I got lockups.

eg.

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA AGP 0"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "NVagp" "2"
Option "PageFlip" "On"
Option "DPMS"
Option "NoLogo"
Option "CursorShadow" "on"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "TwinView" "off"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA AGP 1"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 1
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "NVagp" "2"
Option "PageFlip" "On"
Option "DPMS"
Option "NoLogo"
Option "CursorShadow" "on"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "TwinView" "On"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "TVOverScan" "0.6"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,NULL;NULL,800x600;NULL,640x480"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt-1,tv"
EndSection


This setup confused X and it locked up as soon as I tried to switch to the TV.... I guess once X is started and the driver inited. the dacs are connect to only the startup device and cannot be changed on the fly.
__________________
slackr

SysInfo:
Linux 2.4.20
DUAL Pentium III (Coppermine) 1003.679 MHz
Bogomips: 4004.24
Mem: 152/1291M
Diskspace: 110G
Screen Res: 2560x1024
Graphics Model: GeForce FX 5600
slackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-03, 01:37 AM   #7
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Tvout is independant of twinview. Before twinview even existed there was already tvout support in the drivers. Setting up tvout without twinview is similar to setting up a vga card that uses one head. The only difference is that you specificy the refresh rates for the monitor in a special monitor section and that you add the options to select the the tv system (PAL...) and the tv connector...
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:04 PM
Realy messed up dual head vdub12 NVIDIA Linux 1 09-15-02 12:26 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM
mx 440 xtacy dual head and cli squid NVIDIA Linux 4 08-15-02 04:04 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.