Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-07, 06:40 PM   #1
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default system shut down

my pc is just switching off for no reason ? dose not do it in 3dmark ie at load or everest on stress test if i stop them then start somthin else it just powers of dam odd

i did did all programs of to night .. after cmos reset and reinstalled bios .. only was sufing and then system just went off

any help whould be good

also cleaned sysem ie filters and all that
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 07:50 PM   #2
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: system shut down

Post your system specs so we can help you out. Especially your power supply.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 08:02 PM   #3
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

an832 sli mb (just updated to 1405 beta bios due to problem) was 1303 bios

Corsair TWINX2048-4400PRO 2 gb

fx60 cpu

targan 900w psu

7800 gtx (heat pipe version) 256mb x2 sli

xfi sound card the crackel version ie x ram

raptor hard drive 150 gb

200 gb maxtor hard drive

212 pioneer dvd writer

plexor premin writer


system is running cool on air ie cpu 52 load cards uder 60 load mb 44 on load max
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 08:09 PM   #4
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: system shut down

Have you checked all your connections? Do you have temperature shutdown
option in the bios? Did you load fail safe defaults after flashing the bios?
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 08:22 PM   #5
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rum Cooler
Have you checked all your connections? Do you have temperature shutdown
option in the bios? Did you load fail safe defaults after flashing the bios?
temps are cool mb 37 cpu 36 gpu 1 37

i even did a cmos reset then did the bios was in case cheaking leads today..

i thought same as you psu .. also even in event veiwer there is nothing no warning nothing

dam odd i tryed virues cheak and it powered down half way though then tryed again it did it ie ful cheak so not virues

this is doing my head in
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 08:40 PM   #6
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: system shut down

Might want to pm redeemed he was having problems with the samo mobo not too long ago. He ended up having to rma it. I'll try to find the post...



http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88329
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 08:45 PM   #7
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rum Cooler
Might want to pm redeemed he was having problems with the samo mobo not too long ago. He ended up having to rma it. I'll try to find the post...



http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88329


ok thanks mate just got on again me syistem just went off

dam odd

also just eamil tagan to see wot they say just before it happend

power of crap = bull****
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-07, 09:27 PM   #8
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: system shut down

Have you tried testing your memory with memtest?
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-07, 08:39 AM   #9
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

yes done memtest 2 passes no errors . but still thinking that due to being on standard now and the timeings are differant than they use to be on this mb i use to get standard 33310 now it is 3338 ? never use to do this also updated to that latest bios and i have had speaker beeping in windows twice after playing a game and just on teamspeak

i did have a odd shut down about a month ago ie just switch off . it blew the fuse in plug put new fuse in and it started i just put that down to bad overclock so brought it down a bit ie fx60 at 2.8
system was running ok till last 3 days
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-07, 11:13 AM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: system shut down

I had the same problem, end result was that it was caused by a new WD hard drive.

When the HDD was plugged in computer would shut down with out a warning just turn off like someone unplugged power from it.

PSU was fine, because in place of that WD, i plugged in 4 other HDD to stress it a bit, and computer was working perfectly fine. Put the WD back, and few minutes later its off.

I would recommend testing each component, only plug in what its absolutly required to start the computer, nothing else. If it still shut down, try to change the HDD to a different one.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-07, 11:56 AM   #11
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
I had the same problem, end result was that it was caused by a new WD hard drive.

When the HDD was plugged in computer would shut down with out a warning just turn off like someone unplugged power from it.

PSU was fine, because in place of that WD, i plugged in 4 other HDD to stress it a bit, and computer was working perfectly fine. Put the WD back, and few minutes later its off.

I would recommend testing each component, only plug in what its absolutly required to start the computer, nothing else. If it still shut down, try to change the HDD to a different one.
mm did you get any noise coming from hard drive i had 2 that went down and allways got clicking noise due to arm jamming

i could do a hdd test to see if that does anything all other stress tests have done only failed after coming out of test but never done a hard disk test
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 01:01 PM   #12
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

mmm odd this the shut down went away .. then as soon as i mess with mem settings ie cas tras etc i get the system shut down or crash to desk top .. but this is very random.
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
PhysX System Software 9.12.0604 News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.