Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-07, 06:04 PM   #1
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

I have an ASRock motherboard with GeForce 6150SE + nForce 430 chipset.
I'm running a Debian etch x86 (32 bit) on an AMD64, with compiled 2.6.22.6 SMP kernel and xorg.
Installed the 100.14.19 x86 version of the driver.
It's configured to my monitor's native resolution i.e. 1440*900 in xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen         "Default Screen" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice    "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
#    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Configured Mouse"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "CorePointer"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 72.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 60.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Generic Video Card"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "Generic Video Card"
    Monitor        "Generic Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option	"RenderAccel"	"true"
    Option	"DynamicTwinView" "false"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1440x900"
        ViewPort    0 0
        Virtual     1440 900
    EndSubSection
EndSection
The nvidia driver claims that it has set the resolution to 1440*900:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1440x900"

However, the resolution is set to 1152*864.
So the driver thinks he has successfully set the right resolution but in fact not.

This behaviour is not deterministic, sometimes it works fine, but sometimes not.
It can change without restarting the machine, just doing startx and exit or switching back and forth between graphic and character screens (ctrl-alt-f1/f7)

Did anybody have the same problem ?
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-07, 06:12 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log while the problem is present.

thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-07, 02:42 PM   #3
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Here it goes as gzipped attachment.
I actually sent this to the nvidia linux bug mail address as well.]
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (33.8 KB, 232 views)
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-07, 03:16 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

I don't see anything in the bug report to suggest that X is using a 1152x864 mode. Where are you seeing this mode?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-07, 02:42 PM   #5
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

My monitor tells that on the OSD menu.
Further on, when the resolution is set to 1152*864, the lower edge of the workspace is out of the screen. All I can do on the monitor to change the V-position in the OSD menu to mo ve the screen upwards, but then the top part is not visible.
So logically the 1440*900 seems to be there, i.e. really 1440 scan lines are sent to the monitor, but only 1152 displayed at a time.

I'm suspecting the nvidia driver because if I boot an older Linux distro on the same machine with the same monitor and kernel but XFree86 (insted of xorg) and NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9629 then I never have this problem.
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-07, 03:06 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

What is the output from xdpyinfo when the problem is present?

Does this happen for multiple users are just one?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-07, 04:02 PM   #7
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

The output of xdpyinfo is the same when the resolution is wrong or good, attached gzipped (as it would be too long).

However, I've found a difference from the xdpyinfo of my old distro with the older NVIDIA driver:
The old one contained
Code:
screen #0:
  dimensions:    1440x900 pixels (430x263 millimeters)
  resolution:    85x87 dots per inch
which size is accurate, as opposed to the new NVIDIA driver's one:

Code:
screen #0:
  dimensions:    1440x900 pixels (366x229 millimeters)
  resolution:    100x100 dots per inch
To make things even more confusing, I changed back to the Xorg provided nv driver. That works fine regarding the resolution, but the display size is the same wrong value according to xdpyinfo:

Code:
name of display:    :0.0
version number:    11.0
vendor string:    The X.Org Foundation
vendor release number:    10300000
X.Org version: 1.3.0
maximum request size:  16777212 bytes
motion buffer size:  256
bitmap unit, bit order, padding:    32, LSBFirst, 32
image byte order:    LSBFirst
number of supported pixmap formats:    7
supported pixmap formats:
    depth 1, bits_per_pixel 1, scanline_pad 32
    depth 4, bits_per_pixel 8, scanline_pad 32
    depth 8, bits_per_pixel 8, scanline_pad 32
    depth 15, bits_per_pixel 16, scanline_pad 32
    depth 16, bits_per_pixel 16, scanline_pad 32
    depth 24, bits_per_pixel 32, scanline_pad 32
    depth 32, bits_per_pixel 32, scanline_pad 32
keycode range:    minimum 8, maximum 255
focus:  window 0x40000a, revert to PointerRoot
number of extensions:    29
    BIG-REQUESTS
    DAMAGE
    DOUBLE-BUFFER
    DPMS
    Extended-Visual-Information
    MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
    MIT-SHM
    MIT-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD
    RANDR
    RECORD
    RENDER
    SECURITY
    SHAPE
    SYNC
    TOG-CUP
    X-Resource
    XAccessControlExtension
    XC-APPGROUP
    XC-MISC
    XFIXES
    XFree86-Bigfont
    XFree86-DGA
    XFree86-Misc
    XFree86-VidModeExtension
    XINERAMA
    XInputExtension
    XKEYBOARD
    XTEST
    XVideo
default screen number:    0
number of screens:    1

screen #0:
  dimensions:    1440x900 pixels (366x229 millimeters)
  resolution:    100x100 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
  root window id:    0x5b
  depth of root window:    24 planes
  number of colormaps:    minimum 1, maximum 1
  default colormap:    0x20
  default number of colormap cells:    256
  preallocated pixels:    black 0, white 16777215
  options:    backing-store NO, save-unders NO
  largest cursor:    64x64
  current input event mask:    0xfa4031
    KeyPressMask             EnterWindowMask          LeaveWindowMask          
    KeymapStateMask          StructureNotifyMask      SubstructureNotifyMask   
    SubstructureRedirectMask FocusChangeMask          PropertyChangeMask       
    ColormapChangeMask       
  number of visuals:    2
  default visual id:  0x21
  visual:
    visual id:    0x21
    class:    TrueColor
    depth:    24 planes
    available colormap entries:    256 per subfield
    red, green, blue masks:    0xff0000, 0xff00, 0xff
    significant bits in color specification:    8 bits
  visual:
    visual id:    0x22
    class:    DirectColor
    depth:    24 planes
    available colormap entries:    256 per subfield
    red, green, blue masks:    0xff0000, 0xff00, 0xff
    significant bits in color specification:    8 bits
I think the problem is that in case of the wrong resolution with NVIDIA the V-size of the image is too high, i.e. the line frequency is set too low. Is there any way I can get the value of the line frequency from the video card ?
Attached Files
File Type: gz xdpyinfo.xorg.nvidia.nok.gz (1.4 KB, 190 views)
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-07, 04:10 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Try adding this option to the Device section of xorg.conf:
Option "DPI" "85x87"
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-07, 03:14 PM   #9
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Well, first of all the DPI was set explicitly to 100 via cmd line option in /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc:

Code:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size configured to be 1440 x 900
(++) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (100, 100); computed from -dpi X commandline option
...so I removed the -dpi 100.
Then the log looked somewhat better:

Code:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size configured to be 1440 x 900
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (85, 87); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config
(--) NVIDIA(0):     option
...but the problem is still the same:
the resolution is sometimes 1440*900, sometimes 1152*864.


Any other idea ?
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-07, 03:23 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

I'd like to see two more bug reports. One where its working as expected, and one where its not.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 03:17 PM   #11
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Here they come:

nvidia-bug-report.log-xfree86_ok.gz : the older nvidia driver with XFree86, works fine.
nvidia-bug-report.log-xorg-nv_ok.gz : the nv driver with xorg, works fine, monitor set to 1440*900, 51 kHz, 55 Hz
nvidia-bug-report.log-xorg_nok.gz : the new nvidia driver with xorg, resolution is wrong (1152*870*59 Hz according to monitor)
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log-xfree86_ok.gz (32.2 KB, 307 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log-xorg-nv_ok.gz (28.4 KB, 215 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log-xorg_nok.gz (33.2 KB, 174 views)
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 03:34 PM   #12
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, failure to set the wanted resolution

Well, I may have found a workaround:

I just copied one of the modelines that the xorg nv driver logged, and added that into the Monitor section:

Code:
    Modeline "1440x900"  106.50  1440 1520 1672 1904  900 903 909 942 +hsync -vsync
Now mode "1440x900" works.
So the nvidia driver calculates the modeline somehow differently - maybe this could be taken over from xorg ?
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.