Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-03, 02:55 AM   #1
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default 3D mark with new mobo

Got some new test info for you.
I just ran 3Dmark2k3 with my new mobo and my score increased a bit. I ran the "compare" with other 2.4 ghz systems, and mine now comes up as 4th in the list (all the others are 9700pro's). My score was 5136. Other scores above me were :
5158,5189, 5430. Please keep in mind I am using 512ddr266 on a dual channel board! Next week I will purchase Corsair TwinX 1GB DDR 400 (2 X 512 DDR400 CL 2). I will run again and let you know. I tested it with Corsair (2 X 256 XMS DDR 400 (=512)) at work and improved over 2000 points on 3dmark 2k1 (we didn't have 2k3 to test it with). We shall see next week...
Rob

My Rig
P4 2.4 (533)
MSI 655Max (rev. A)
512 MB PC2100 (DDR 266) (By 1 week from Thursday - 1GB Corsair TwinX DDR 400)
GeForce FX 5800Ultra (Det. 43.45)
2 (40) GB HD (Maxtor 7200 RPM) (within 2 months - both SATA (1) WD Raptor (1000RPM 8MB) 36 GB (for winxp C Drive), (1) Seagate (7200RPM 8MB) 120GB for secondary drive.
WinXPPro (SP1)
DVD-RW, DVDROM, BLA, BLA, BLA...

Anyone else have 655 chipset with a FX5800 Ultra? Curious too see your scores/rigs...
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 03:31 AM   #2
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default

Opps. Forgot to say that that was in quality setting.
Just redid it with Performance Setting and scored
5209! I scored Second!

Again, this is WITH DDR 266! Can't wait to test with Corsair TwinX!!!
Rob

** NOTE **
This is against P4/Athlon's Running at 2.4 Ghz. There are much higher scores on overclocked machines. In the next few weeks I plan on getting a better heatsink and I will see about overclocking my processor (or buying a new one...)
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 09:12 AM   #3
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: 3D mark with new mobo

Quote:
Originally posted by nrdstrm
WD Raptor (1000RPM 8MB
My god, where can I get one of these 1000rpm drives?

Enjoy the new memory.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 09:37 AM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

hey man! nice scores there so you were finally able to get the new mobo to install the drivers?? by tweaking the hell out of my system i was able to get the score in my sig... 5,402. thats without overclocking, i hope to soon up the fsb a little... since i have insane cooling... and no overclocking here is my 3dmark 2k3 score:
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=516989

and changing my memory speed from 333 to 400mhz i was able to get about 300 3dmarks more in 3dmark 2k3, in 3dmarks2k1 you will see an even bigger increase... since the 3dmark2k1 are more heavily reliant on the cpu and memory scores. 3kmark2k3 is mostly reliant on your video card setup/drivers etc. im sure you will see a pretty decent boost since your using 266... after you get the new memory, make sure its reading corectly in the bios.. you know, cas 2, ultra memory timings, and 2:3 to make sure its running at 200mhz, (400mhz doubled) you may have to increase voltage if its not stable.

oh, btw nrdstrm... i sent you a private message a while ago.. i dunno if you read it yet.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64

Last edited by jAkUp; 04-09-03 at 09:52 AM.
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help to choose a Mobo Demona CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 6 08-09-02 12:59 PM
Killing of a mobo.... Evil Panda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 08-05-02 12:37 PM
1.2ghz 266 fsb TBird, VT GF2 GTS, MSI K7T Turbo-R mobo Kev1 For Sale/Trade 5 08-03-02 07:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.