Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 04-09-03, 09:10 AM   #1
mvp

Default trouble installing 1.0-4349 drivers.

i am using debian woody, and have a Geforce2MX card.

first i tried running NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4349.run but it was unablt to find the kernel header, so i install the correct kernal header and it's still the same, i also tried running the program with -kernel-/usr/src/kernel-headers-2.2.20-idepci and its still the same.

i also tried unpacking the .run file and then install manualy, but then it says [gcc check] error 1.
i tried inserting IGNORE_CC_MISMATCH in the Makefile, but that dosen't help it just writes missing seperator.

i'm new to linux so any help would be appreciatet
mvp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 09:18 AM   #2
mvp

btw. the output of gcc -dumpversion is 2.95.4 and the output of cat /proc/version is gcc version 2.7.2.3
Old 04-09-03, 11:49 AM   #3
bwkaz

That's your problem -- there's a compiler version mismatch.

What you need to do is recompile your kernel with your system compiler, boot to the new kernel, and then retry the nVidia drivers.
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 02:04 PM   #4
mvp

thanks, i'll try that
Old 04-13-03, 05:43 AM   #5
blubb0r

Help
how do i recompile my kernel? im a REALLY new to linux, and dont know how to do this.
got the same problem, the driver doesnt find my kernel header files.
thx for help
blubb0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 07:54 AM   #6
bwkaz

If the problem is just that it doesn't find the headers, then you can fix the problem by installing your distro's kernel-source package.