Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-03, 12:10 PM   #1
Fred_Flint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Default Slooooow Shutdown on Win2k

I have setup 4 different PCs, all of them are running Win2k Pro and all of them have the same problem. They take about 2 minutes to save setting before shutting down?

The pc spec:

PIII 600 , via 133 , 768MB , Geforce256 32MB DDR
AMD 1700+ , ali 266E , 1GB DDR, ATI 9500 128MB
P4 2.4 (533) , SIS 648 max, 512MB DDR, Geforce4 TI 4400
Intel Celeron 1700, SIS 645 U, 256MB DDR, Geforce2 mx

The first three have been running well for a log time, but about two months ago they started to take a long time to shut down? The last one has done it from the start.

I herd that this could be caused by the nv helper dll but the AMD PC has a ATI card in it? (it did have the Geforce256 in it first)

Anyway it has really started to piss me off!, So any help would be great.
__________________
Intel P4 3.0C, ATI 9800 Pro, MSI 865PE-Neo2-FIS2R, 2x 80GB SATA Maxtor RAID 0, 1GB PC3200, Win2K Pro
A64 3200+, FX5200, MSI K8T, 1GB PC3500 Ultra Plat, 2*160GB SATA WinXP Pro
Fred_Flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 12:48 PM   #2
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default

Hmmm, I noticed something similar on my machine in the recent past. I don't really shut down or reboot all that much, but it's slow as molasses when I do. I wonder if it's registry bloat? I figured it was something specific to my machine. Guess it's time to hit MS support again...

Cheers,
JND
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 01:44 PM   #3
Fred_Flint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Default

Hi jnd3,
I donít think it to do with the size of the register as the Celeron PC is only 2-3 weeks old and only has MS-Office 2K on it. I think it was one of the more recent windows updates (after sp 3)?????
__________________
Intel P4 3.0C, ATI 9800 Pro, MSI 865PE-Neo2-FIS2R, 2x 80GB SATA Maxtor RAID 0, 1GB PC3200, Win2K Pro
A64 3200+, FX5200, MSI K8T, 1GB PC3500 Ultra Plat, 2*160GB SATA WinXP Pro
Fred_Flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 07:37 PM   #4
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

Yeah it's one of the more recent windows update patches that does it.

It's easy to resolve this though, hit the start button go to run type in "gpedit.msc" (that's the group policy editor), next open Computer Configuration, then open administrative templates, followed by system, then logon, then right click and go to properties on "Maximum retries to unload and update your user profile", finally set it to enabled and the max retries to something low like 5 or 10. Win 2k should shutdown much faster now.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 09:10 AM   #5
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default

"I am not a number, I am a free man!"

I'll give that a try on my laptop here at work, and on my desktop once I get home. At most it'll save about a minute (the default is 60 tries, one per second), but that'll shave off the vast majority of the time it take to shut down (for me, at least). Thanks for the info!

Cheers,
JND
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 09:11 AM   #6
Fred_Flint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Talking

Thanks Starscream!!!

I followed your instructions and it is much better now
__________________
Intel P4 3.0C, ATI 9800 Pro, MSI 865PE-Neo2-FIS2R, 2x 80GB SATA Maxtor RAID 0, 1GB PC3200, Win2K Pro
A64 3200+, FX5200, MSI K8T, 1GB PC3500 Ultra Plat, 2*160GB SATA WinXP Pro
Fred_Flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 02:31 PM   #7
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnd3
"I am not a number, I am a free man!"
"Who is number one?"
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 4 Go and X-Server Problem with shutdown rapljenovic NVIDIA Linux 2 08-30-02 10:11 AM
Merge a registry key during Shutdown? cybpsych Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 08-24-02 03:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.