Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-07, 01:20 PM   #13
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Windows Update if u have Ultimate .....

Tried it yesterday and got a black screen as background
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-07, 02:52 PM   #14
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

I dl'd this yesterday in windows update (i have ult. edition)
Seems to be working just to same
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-07, 05:22 PM   #15
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

It seems to be working fine for me. Before, if I tried to game I'd get some sort of crash- usually only the game I tried playing crashing and DreamScene becoming disabled. Now, after probably 3 or so hours in BioShock with DreamScene running, it's still working. I'm pleased.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-07, 10:08 PM   #16
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
are you running your cards in SLI or seperate?
Separate, and SLI when gaming.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 06:19 AM   #17
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Same problem as I have
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 01:42 PM   #18
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

SLI no go
Multi monitor no go
DreamScene =
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19

Last edited by lduguay; 12-17-09 at 12:42 PM.
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 03:45 PM   #19
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

last time I tried to run Dreamscene, with 163.69 drivers, it gave me BSOD. after updating to the final version, works pretty well. pity Microsoft doesn't offer more DS backgrounds by default
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 05:05 PM   #20
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

I enabled it, saw how pretty it was then after I noticed it made my PC use 1Gb of RAM on idle so I quickly disabled it...
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-07, 06:15 PM   #21
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Possible solution for the black background instead of a video?

thx
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 06:20 PM   #22
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Quote:
I enabled it, saw how pretty it was then after I noticed it made my PC use 1Gb of RAM on idle so I quickly disabled it...
Dude you realize that Vista uses a crapton of ram just to keep applications quick on the draw. It's not like XP or something like that anymore. Plus my ram was being used to the extent of 800mg before dreamscene, now it's 1.06 normally with DS.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 09:51 PM   #23
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater
Dude you realize that Vista uses a crapton of ram just to keep applications quick on the draw. It's not like XP or something like that anymore. Plus my ram was being used to the extent of 800mg before dreamscene, now it's 1.06 normally with DS.
Xp used 300MB, Vista uses 500MB... with dreamscene it jumped to 1GB.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-07, 11:09 PM   #24
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows DreamScene Final Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater
Dude you realize that Vista uses a crapton of ram just to keep applications quick on the draw. It's not like XP or something like that anymore. Plus my ram was being used to the extent of 800mg before dreamscene, now it's 1.06 normally with DS.
so? if you have the ram why not use it?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.