Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-03, 07:36 AM   #13
MuFu
should be at a lecture
 
MuFu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Loughborough Uni/Aylesbury, UK
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
That's a pretty stupid stance, especially considering that modern graphics hardware can do some degree of AA without too much of a performance hit.
My thoughts exactly. I think the game was rushed out to be honest.

Plus, it's an X-Box port so they probably never even considered checking FSAA works in the early stages of development.

MuFu.
MuFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 09:11 AM   #14
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

In reviews I've seen the game with FSAA enabled...if you guys can't get it working how did they?

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NDQ0LDM=
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 09:29 AM   #15
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

FSAA does "work" in that you notice reduced jaggies. However, when you enable FSAA (at least on ATI cards) lights start to shine through walls, which pretty much ruined the experience for me.

Of course, I didn't really like the game in the first place but the fact that FSAA doesn't work properly is icing on the cake.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 12:10 AM   #16
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default

it's working fine on 43.45 drivers!
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 12:19 AM   #17
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
My thoughts exactly. I think the game was rushed out to be honest.
No, somebody rushed out a game?! Perish the thought.

Then, read the MOO3 list of bugs to be fixed in the first patch... *shudder*

Seems kind of odd that FSAA is broken though if it uses the Unreal engine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 06:16 AM   #18
tEd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 61
Default

there will be a patch which resolves the AA problem.

The recently released dx9a get around a limitation of having MSAA and multisample buffer effects in the same frame
tEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 08:30 AM   #19
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default

The problem exists on ATI and nVidia cards. The same problem exists on Silent Hill 2 when you use the flashlight. Whatever API is being used to convert these PS2 titles to PC has issues with FSAA, probably because PS2 developers have never heard of it .
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 12:25 PM   #20
Bambers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RobHague
Ah

Have you seen this little 'glitch' btw? Look at the clouds in the sky :S
You've got the preference slider on balanced (or possibly even aggressive - urgh) in the drivers? (or 'quality' as its now labelled).

afaik as well as its affects on trilinear and AF also enables a kind of texture compression resulting in the blockyness of the sky in that shot, put the slider to application preference.

If that won't fix it then its something to do with the game.
Bambers is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-11-03, 01:12 PM   #21
Rogozhin
Registered User
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: oregon
Posts: 826
Default

You can use AA if you enable night vision, while looking away from light sources, and then turn it off. Now you have AA without the lights shining through the walls.

Worked for me as I took a large fps drop and the jaggies were noticably gone.

Rogo
Rogozhin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 05:46 AM   #22
The Punisher
nVidia GeForceFX 5900U
 
The Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 133
Unhappy I have most of the problems posted above.

I purposely upraded to a Leadtek GF4 Ti4800 SE 128MB DDR so that I could enjoy a jaggie-free Splinter Cell (previously playing on Leadtek GF2 MX 64MB with AA disabled for better performance) but was utterly horrified to find it still full of jaggies even with the newest Det 43.45!!! I've tried the Leadtek driver that came with the card & AA seemed to work but I got the same problem as Saturnotaku with lights shining thru everything & a small hit to 3DMark scores. The new 1.1 patch for SC didn't help at all. My guess is Det 43.45 has some bugs to iron out as AA also doesn't work in Medal of Honor, even with patch 1.11 installed. So now I just have to be patient & wait for the next Det release & hope that nVidia has at least the sense to improve on the driver's compatibility & functionality to be on par with (or better than) the older certified 30.82 ver which everybody (including myself) thinks is the most perfect Det ver ever released. Although I'm a faithful nVidia supporter & the thought of going ATi has never crossed my mind, I doubt there are many people as patient as me in the world.
__________________
Frank Castle is dead... call me THE PUNISHER

Last edited by The Punisher; 04-22-03 at 02:13 AM.
The Punisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 11:51 AM   #23
Rogozhin
Registered User
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: oregon
Posts: 826
Default

Try my little trick above.

rogo
Rogozhin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
Thief: Deadly Shadows, Splinter Cell, Anomaly: Warzone Earth and Legacy of Kain: Soul News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-04-12 11:00 AM
Nvidia 3123 not working on Mandrake 8.2 UP with Geforce 440 MMX tariqf NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 08:22 AM
TV-out not working nomatter what driver.. Dr_Gigolo NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 09-11-02 11:11 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.