Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-07, 10:59 PM   #25
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
It's possible, plenty of people downloaded the betas by torrents. I personally only did that with beta2, but used fileplanet with beta3... no problems so far. Well, I hope the guys do file a bug in the bugtracker and/or post it in the betaforums because something like this is quite critical.
its already on the beta forum.... also i checked my vista install and its fine so no issues so far
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 11:56 PM   #26
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

I'm not surprised. Its like a new trend with these latest demos and even full games is to dump a lot of crap you don't need on your system and do a lot of crap in the background at the same time. I miss the day of installing a game and thats all it installed and didn't perform tricks on your OS to slow it down or in this case destroy it.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 01:40 AM   #27
nopp0x00
Registered User
 
nopp0x00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 278
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0
my 2nd HD almost hit the crapper after 1 reset. It took scan disk like 3 attempts to repair the drive after windows wouldnt let me have access. whew, not sure if this is crysis related but it happened one reset after installing..
Bro, be careful. That happened to me with two disks right before they failed. So go and backup your stuff right now. Don't wait.
nopp0x00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 01:42 AM   #28
nopp0x00
Registered User
 
nopp0x00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 278
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemecb
Except that it would then have to write the corrupted in-memory version of the file back to disk, and I can't see any reason that it would do that. In fact I don't see why anything except a system update would be writing to a system file at all, they're there for apps to use, not alter.

I suppose it's possible they're overwriting DLL's or something, I know that used to go on a fair amount (is it even still allowed?), but it's hard to believe they would completely bork a system (especially a clean install as in the one case). Any chance one of the sites got a trojaned copy of the demo?
They wouldn't bork anything intentionally. I'd like to think that such a technically proficient group of people have a clue as to how not to mess up a potential customer's system. Your idea that those people with issues downloaded some maliciously modded version of a beta seems more likely.

Or perhaps these people are just morons who are playing an intensive game on an unstable overclock and then blaming the game for their carelessness. I know that in the past when I've pushed the envelope on an overclock too hard that I've had to go into recovery to get my system to boot again.
nopp0x00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 09:46 AM   #29
Twistedgenius
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by nopp0x00
Or perhaps these people are just morons who are playing an intensive game on an unstable overclock and then blaming the game for their carelessness


Very well said. To many people now a days overclock their CPU to the moon and back and think they have a stable overclock just because they can run superpi or P95 for 10 minutes

A cpu intensive game like crysis or flight sim x will OWN an unstable overclock everytime. LOL.
Twistedgenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 11:25 AM   #30
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twistedgenius
A cpu intensive game like crysis or flight sim x will OWN an unstable overclock everytime. LOL.
Thats actually very true. When I tried a new OC (3,45Ghz) it was stable in Orthos for around half an hour and stable in every game, but Crysis would crash within a minute. Lowered the OC back to my old OC (3,3Ghz) and stock voltage, it never crashed at all for a total of 20+h, same drivers, settings and everything else.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 11:29 AM   #31
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

So has this been confirmed in any way? Makes me worried to play it.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 11:32 AM   #32
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

If It's not Prime95 stable for at least 8 hours (preferably more) then it's not stable. And I have had overclocks that failed after multiple hours, so it's not just a hypothetical thing.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-07, 11:55 AM   #33
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Fine here, no issues with the beta.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 12:01 PM   #34
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC
So has this been confirmed in any way? Makes me worried to play it.
No confirm cause its like only 3 people and they probaby overclock and then blame the game.

The beta is solid as a rock for me. Fast loading. Never locked up. Never crashed.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 02:08 PM   #35
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Crashed only once, when I tried to Run and jump on a boat. the system locked up and had to manually reset it. thankfully, it was a one-time thing working great now.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-07, 05:24 PM   #36
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os

Well it's still a BETA, and u know not to run a BETA on a machine u use every day and if u do, well don't say u lost all ur data, cause I guess it's in the contract not to install beta software on a work machine
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
No Guild Wars 2 beta this weekend News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 08:10 AM
Oi, Diablo: Torchlight II Beta Stress Test This Weekend News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 09:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.