Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 10-05-07, 02:27 AM   #1
bsh

Default Can not get GLX working

Hello all!
I'm new to this forum and registered to get help here.
I'm a newb with linux, so treat me like that, pls.
Note: i'm at work now and can not post log files of my home pc, but will try to describe my problem as detailed as i can, and i'll post log files when i get home later today.
So... I have had many spare parts lying around in drawers, so i put a secondary pc together to be my torrent seeding box. The hardware specs are: some noname motherboard, with VIA KT133a Socket A, an AMD Duron 1200, 256MB SDRAM (PC133, 2 * 128MB modules), an IDE/ATA Maxtor 80GB HDD 7200rpm. The box is running headless (no monitor, no keyboard, no mouse) and I manage it via VNC or SSH if X is not running. The only program that runs on it is Azures, it starts up automatically when i boot up and log in, and the box runs 24/7.
I have Ubuntu 7.04 on it, running XFCE (previously i used Gnome)
When i first installed linux on it, about a month ago, i used one of my spare vga cards, which was a MSI GeFroce2 Ti 64MB.
It worked with the default ubuntu 'nv' driver, but it was rather slow, so i tried to install the nvidia drivers on it. I could get it working, but only partially. At least, i could run nvidia-config, so the glx must have been worked.
Then i realized, that my other spare card, which is a noname GeForce4 MX440 64MB, could be using a bit newer (but still legacy) drivers, so i replaced the card, uninstalled the nvidia driver, and reinstalled the newer legacy drivers.
From this point, i can not get glx working.
Tried to install multiple times with no luck.
Then i gave Envy a try, but it could not install the drivers, quit halfway. So i gave up temporarily and used the 'nv' drivers. Since the pc is low spec and runs on VNC only, it's not important if i have glx or not.