Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-03, 05:38 AM   #1
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default Quake3 Performance Problem with 4349

Hi,

Quake was running fine with the last version of the Driver. I
updated to 4349. Now I have about 40 Frames less in Quake
plus the timings seem to be wrong. The clock runs about 2-4"
to slow. Jumps are like there's no gravity etc, etc, etc...
...it's just not playable anymore.

My Hardware:
Asus A7A266, Duron 1000Mhz, 265MB RAM, Geforce2 MX400
Linux RedHat 8.0
Quake3 1.32b (110 Frames before now 70)

My Question is now: How can i go back to the old driver????
Reinstalling the RPM's won't work.
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 02:10 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
Jumps are like there's no gravity etc, etc, etc...
This almost sounds like a Q3A problem - the NVIDIA driver can't affect the in-game gravity settings, unless you meant that as a description of choppy play.
Quote:
My Question is now: How can i go back to the old driver????
Code:
nvidia-installer --uninstall
will uninstall the driver. You can then install 1.0-4191.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 06:05 AM   #3
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Hi,

I will check the uninstaller. Got no time a the moment.

It's not just a quake problem!
before after
quake 100-110 60-70 FPS
UT 60 30 FPS
UT2003 35 5-8 FPS

I have another system. It's pretty much the same. Expect theres a Geforce4 TI4200 in it. Here everything
runs fine.
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 03:46 PM   #4
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Are you sure you're pulling the correct libGL libraries?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 08:59 AM   #5
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Hi,

Testet the uninstaller. Everything is running fine again!

There where in fact some libGLxxx.rpmsave around. But
the active one was libGL.so.1.0.4349. Maybe I try it
sometimes on freshly installed box.

btw: The main problem was not the lack of performance.
The timings where wrong!
One minute real time was:
48s on a the Geforce2 MX in Quake3
58s on Geforce4 MX in Quake3
This lead to the slow jumps and movments (I think)

There was another problem: A friend of mine couldn't
change the settings in Quake3. Quake simply crashed.
Reinstalling the older drivers (4191) helped.
(Celeron1700, Geforce4MX, RedHat80)

So I guess I wait for the next generation of Drivers

Thanks alot

Gabriel
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 10:04 AM   #6
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
There was another problem: A friend of mine couldn't
change the settings in Quake3. Quake simply crashed.
Reinstalling the older drivers (4191) helped.
There could also be a problem with the glibc library files. I had that problem with the new install of RH9, and when RH updated the glibc library files that fixed the crashing problem with Q3A. Now I can setup and change Quake 3's settings without it crashing.. It's worth looking into.... This was with the 4349 drivers installed (RH9 needs the 4349 anyway as the other will not run)

Wolf

Last edited by Wolfman [TWP]; 04-15-03 at 09:01 PM.
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 01:53 PM   #7
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

The US boxed version of RH9 shipped with a broken glibc - you need to grab the update from RedHat if you're using that version. The download version is fine.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-03, 07:54 AM   #8
tstate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Thumbs up

Hi,

Found the Problem(s)!
I had twinview aktivated (for playing on the BIG screen).
Turning twinview off -> Evereything is as fast as before.

Now I updatet to 4363 and RH9 and everything seems to
work perfect.

thx alot for the new drivers.
tstate is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 03:10 PM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Low OpenGL Performance Instinct NVIDIA Linux 10 08-08-02 04:56 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.